April 8, 2024

This message is distributed to Academic Department Chairs & Deans and Academic Unit Directors. (Click here to view description of distribution groups.)

To:       Department Chairs and Academic Unit Directors

From:  David Marshall
           Executive Vice Chancellor

Re:      Call for Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship Nominations

I write to invite nominations for the Dickson Emeriti Professorship, which is awarded on an annual basis for a term of one year to an emerita or emeritus faculty member. The funds associated with the professorship may be used to support research or creative activity, a recall teaching appointment, or public service that benefits the University. This year, up to $25,000 will be available for the professorship.

Past Dickson Emeriti Professors have used this appointment to pursue research and creative projects, contribute to the curriculum, and pursue collaborations with faculty and students. This is an opportunity to support the activities of our emeriti colleagues, keep them connected to faculty and students, and support their ongoing contributions to the campus.

We welcome projects that might combine some of these elements—for example, a research project that would involve undergraduates or be connected to a Discovery Seminar for first-year students, or a course that would include funding for activities or undergraduate research projects.

Departments submitting nominations should explain the benefit that the proposed appointment would provide to the department, the campus, or University as a whole, as well as a detailed budget. Nominations should be submitted to my office via the appropriate Dean’s office by May 10, 2024. Nominations and questions may be directed to Kelly Hayton at awards@ap.ucsb.edu.

We value the many contributions of our emeriti faculty and welcome new opportunities to support their ongoing work and further their connections with our academic community. I urge you to consider submitting a nomination. Thank you.

cc:      Deans
           Departmental Business Officers