September 11, 2019

To: Campus Community
From: David Marshall, Executive Vice Chancellor
Re:  Summer Sessions Director


Following a national search and campus consultation, I am pleased to announce that Dr. Leesa Beck has been appointed as the Director of Summer Sessions, effective November 1, 2019. She replaces Dr. James Ford, who left UCSB recently to become the Chief of Staff for the Division of Academic Planning at UC Berkeley. Dr. Beck has a Ph.D. and M.A. in Education from UC Santa Barbara, an M.B.A. from Pepperdine University, and a B.A. from Cornell University. She has worked in the UCSB Registrar’s Office since 2006, serving as our University Registrar since 2012. We appreciate her many contributions to the campus during her time in the Registrar’s Office, where she worked closely with academic departments on curricular and enrollment issues. We look forward to working with her as she takes on this important leadership role.

I am grateful to the search committee, chaired by Jeffrey Stopple, Associate Vice Chancellor of Undergraduate Education. The committee membership is listed below.

Thank you.


Summer Sessions Director Committee

Jeffrey Stopple, Chair, Associate Vice Chancellor of Undergraduate Education; Dean of Undergraduate Education, College of Letters and Science

John Majewski, Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts, College of Letters and Science

Norah Dunbar, Professor and Chair, Department of Communication

George Michaels, Executive Director, Instructional Development

Dorothy Satomi, Assistant Dean, Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences, College of Letters and Science

Christian Villaseñor, Director of Academic Administration, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor