Instructional and Study Space Workgroup

Charge from the EVC

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Executive Vice Chancellor convened a workgroup in May 2020 to conduct a review of the availability and suitability of our campus instructional spaces, including but not limited to General Assignment Classrooms. 

The group was asked to determine:

  • Revised room occupancies based on maintaining 6 feet physical distancing
  • The suitability of existing room ventilation and airflow and if modifications were possible
  • Path of travel and room entry/exit options to ensure proper spacing, designated one-way stairway and corridor traffic, etc.
  • The viability of spacing out class times, which would allow for the ventilation system to make additional air changes and possible cleaning in between classes
  • Recommendations for cleaning frequency
  • Wireless eduroam coverage is adequate to provide robust network connections for accessing online instructional materials

 The group was also asked to identify available spaces for Remote Learning and Study Space including:

  • Identifying smaller classrooms (less than 300 square feet) to be used as student learning and study space
  • Considering promoting outdoor spaces - expediting the expansion of outdoor wireless coverage
  • Considering how students can access available study spaces

Workgroup Members

Andy Satomi, Convener andy@ucsb.edu Director of Space Planning and Management, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
Ed Blaschke eblaschke@ltsc.ucsb.edu Assistant Dean for Space and Building Construction, L&S
Frank Castanha frank@engineering.ucsb.edu Assistant Dean for Building Construction & Space Management, Engineering
Julie Cunningham jcunningham@ltsc.ucsb.edu Assistant Dean for Space Planning and Management, L&S
David Kujan dkujan@library.ucsb.edu Building Operations Manager & Project Coordinator, Library
David McHale david.mchale@ucsb.edu Interim Director, Environmental Health and Safety
George Michaels george_michaels@ucsb.edu Executive Director, Instructional Development
Ben Price ben.price@ucsb.edu Director & Associate CIO, Administrative & Residential IT, Housing, Dining & Aux Ent. 
Jordan Sager jordan.sager@ucsb.edu Assistant Director, Energy and Engineering, Facilities Management
Byron Sandoval byron.sandoval@pf.ucsb.edu Senior Superintendent, Custodial Services, Facilities Management
Anthony Schmid anthony.schmid@sa.ucsb.edu University Registrar, Office of the Registrar